What is the LEED Certification?

As is explained by the US Green Building Council, the creators of the certificate, the LEED certification is a green building certification program that is transforming the way we think about how new architectural projects are designed, constructed, maintained and operated across the globe.

Indeed LEED, or Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, seeks to measure how friendly and environmental responsible are the constructions, decreasing the negative impact of the urbanizations on the planet.

To achieve that goal, LEED has a set of rules, which provide six key aspects:

– Water Efficiency

– Sustainable Sites

– Indoor Enviroment Quality (Sun light, Green areas, fresh air, etc).

– Energy & Atmosphere

– Innovation in Design

– Materials & Resources

The number of points a project earns determines the level of LEED certification. There are four levels of certification which are: LEED Certified: 40-19 points, LEED Silver: 50-59 points, LEED Gold: 90-79 points and LEED Platinum 80 + points. In addition, there are some obligatory requirements called prerequisites and some voluntary requirements known as credits.

Therefore, having a LEED certificate not only shows the compromise with the environment, but also gives several benefits. The main benefit is energy related, with a 80% of efficiency. Also, once the constructions have the certificate, they are very competitive in the market, since the users of these projects can enjoy natural sunlight, green areas and air quality, among others, which encourages people to stay longer in those places. Finally, the constructions with a LEED Certificate have a lower devaluation than other projects.

3. certificaciïn leed


Related Posts

16 Jun 2015

For an inclusive and friendly urban future

08 Apr 2016

8 recommendations for sustainable constructions

14 Aug 2015

Mixed-use projects

Send this to friend